



## GeMUN Security Council Rules of Procedure Written by Umberto Costa Broccardi, Under-Secretary General

These Rules of Procedure are written in accordance to THIMUN Rules of Procedure

## 1- General Considerations

- Rule 1 The Security council is governed by the following Rules of Procedures and by extension by GeMUN's general Rules of Procedure. For all matters not covered by these ROP the genera ROP shall be applied. In case of contradiction the specific rules shall apply.
- Rule 2 The Security council is the only organ capable of issuing legally binding resolutions.
- Rule 3 English shall be the official working language of the Security Council and the usage of any other language is forbidden.
- Rule 4 The members of the Security Council have to be at each session the ones that are part of the Council at the time of the conference.

The five permanent members (United States of America, Russia, China, France and the United Kingdom) shall always be present and have the right of veto

- 2- <u>Officers</u>
- Rule 5 The Security Council shall have two presidents and two deputy presidents.
- Rule 6 The Presidency of the Security Council shall ensure compliance with the present ROP and the general ROP during the debate.
  - 3- Procedure
- Rule 7 The President of the Security Council may declare the meeting opened when at least two thirds of the Council Members are present.
- Rule 8 Amendments to the second degree are in order.
  - 4- Veto
- Rule 9 The five permanent members shall decide when to use the veto power.

  Voting against a resolution will not be considered as using the power of veto.
- Rule 10 Vetoing amendments shall not be in order.
- Rule 11 When the veto power is utilized the resolution has to be rejected.
- Rule 12 The presidency has the right to decide how to proceed when the veto power is utilized.